Archive for April 2nd, 2008




The True Gentleman

This poem was recently emailed to me and I think it to be so beautiful that I wanted to share it with you. 

 

THE TRUE GENTLEMAN

 

The True Gentleman is the man whose conduct proceeds from good will and an acute sense of propriety, and whose self-control is equal to all emergencies; who does not make the poor man conscious of his poverty, the obscure man of his obscurity, or any man of his inferiority or deformity; who is himself humbled if necessity compels him to humble another; who does not flatter wealth, cringe before power, or boast of his own possessions or achievements; who speaks with frankness but always with sincerity and sympathy; whose deed follows his word; who thinks of the rights and feelings of others, rather than his own; and who appears well in any company, a man with whom honor is sacred and virtue safe.

 

John Walter Wayland

Add a comment April 2, 2008

Barack Obama: A Man For All People(Revised “Letter” Piece)

“Out of many, we are truly one.”
Senator Barack Obama recently made this statement in a speech that addressed race relations in our nation.  This speech not only made me proud to be an American, it also solidified my belief that Barack Obama is a man for all people.
Like Senator Obama, I feel that race is a complex issue but one that we must continue to address if healing from our nation’s history of slavery and segregation is ever to take place.  Senator Obama further recognizes that there are other matters that need our attention as well.  People who are struggling day to day to survive; people who are illiterate or don’t have the education necessary to build the path toward the good life; people who suffer from medical conditions but don’t have the means to pay for treatment.  All have felt what it’s like to be undervalued and marginalized. 
Senator Obama reminds us that by facing the tough issues and investing in the well-being of all Americans, we ultimately prosper as a nation. But is it possible that the term “separate but equal” has received a makeover in the new millennium?  After-all we use labels like majority and minority to describe ourselves as Americans, and by doing so we unintentionally cast ourselves into descriptives that imply inequality and imbalance.

But Senator Obama believes that we all can share in the American Dream if we work together to incite change in our thinking, change in our behaviors and change in our attitudes.  He believes this is something “We can do!”

Without doubt we are a nation of diversity. Who better than Barack Obama to reflect that diversity and lead us toward a path that will incur peace and social justice for all.

Respectfully,

Rhonda M. Cartwright

Add a comment April 2, 2008

Water: Clean and Abundant for Everyone? (Revision 3 of Audio Piece)

I arose from my sofa and headed toward the kitchen for a nice cool drink. I decided water was what I wanted to quench my thirst. I took a glass out of the cabinet and filled it to the brim with ice. I turned on the faucet and watched as the water filled the glass and the pieces of ice shifted like the audience in a movie theater when someone arrives late. I lifted the glass to my lips and water flowed like a small river down my throat and into my stomach. I had no thoughts of the water’s cleanliness nor did I have any fear that should I turn on the faucet again water wouldn’t come forth. I was full and satisfied, so I returned to my sofa.
My program was not on yet but I saw a child no more than three-years old drinking from what can only be described as a mud hole. The water was dirty yet the child used his hands as a cup and lifted the water to his lips. I watched as he drank; a small river flowing down into his protruding stomach. He looked ahead as if nothing was wrong; as if drinking dirty water was okay. I was ashamed because I didn’t realize until that moment how much I took this incredible natural resource for granted. I wash my clothes with it. I shower and wash my hair with it. I water my lawn and wash my car with it, never considering that elsewhere in the world a child is drinking from the same water holes that animals drink from.
4,000 children die everyday as a result of dehydration caused by diarrhea. How can this be in the 21st Century? We spend billions of dollars to fight wars in the name of democracy while children perish daily because they don’t have clean water to drink.  
   
Before seeing that child, I had no reason to be concerned about water. I used it at my discretion thinking little of the world around me. But when you know better you do better, so I have decided to educate myself and my family about what we can do to assist efforts in making sure that water is clean and abundant for everyone.

Add a comment April 2, 2008

Pages

Categories

Links

Meta

Calendar

April 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Posts by Month

Posts by Category