Archive for April 24th, 2008




Casework through my eyes…(Final narrative)

For as long as I can remember, I have always been a person who has valued the well-being of others; to this day, seeing someone in pain whether physical, emotional or mental tuggs at my heart. I usually end up praying to God that in the next life people can enjoy the pleasures that they may have missed in this one. Believe it or not, I even asked God at a very young age to allow me to protect those who could not protect themselves. I must have been truly sincere because it wasn’t long afterward that I experienced an event that I will never forget.

I was five-years old and in the first grade. There was a kid in my class that was often picked on and I felt badly for him. There was no logical reason why he was being treated so badly; he was being tormented and in my mind I felt that school should be a fun place especially when you are in the first grade. For this kid, school was far from fun. Thinking back I remember him always sitting alone and crying alot. Our teacher tried hard to console him and encourage the other kids to play with him. It didn’t work so he spent a great deal of recess watching the other kids play; that is until the day I entered his life.

 We were on the school bus going home; the little boy was sitting alone in his seat when the kids on the bus began calling him names and hitting on him.  It’s strange; I don’t remember why the busdriver did not intervene so I did. I yelled at the kids, telling them that I would beat the hell out of all of them if they bothered him again; keep in mind that I was only five-years old at this time but I knew in my heart that if I didn’t do something, the little boy would be traumatized for the rest of his life.

I can’t say the kids listened or cared for that matter what I said because I remember making the decision to pass up my bus stop to get off at his just in case he needed me. When he and I got off at his stop, the kids were looking at us through the windows not saying a word; I stared back with no fear. Feeling rather proud of myself, I took that little boy straight to his front door and when his mom saw him standing there she just grabbed him and hugged him. I remember telling her what happened on the bus, how the kids were teasing him in school and that I just brought him on home. I don’t remember waiting for a response. I just began walking in the direction of my house which was was probably about four blocks away.

When I finally got home, my mom was standing on the porch. I could tell she had been crying. I never got off the school bus so when she saw me she nearly jumped out of her skin. She grabbed me, holding me tight to her chest.Then she began yelling and asking, at the same time, where I had been and why I had not gotten off the bus. I told her that I had to take the little boy home because the other kids were picking on him. She wasn’t trying to hear that and I knew that I would probably get a whipping for it. I was ready though. In my mind, I had done the right thing so God would bless me.

Just as we were walking into the house a car pulled up and a woman and a kid got out and began walking toward us. It was the little boy and his mom! She came up to my mom, introduced herself and the little boy and asked what my name was. My mom told her my name albeit hesitantly. What happened next saved me from a whipping and I am sure opened the door, if only slightly, to God’s promise of being an inheritor of His kingdom. The lady told my mom what I had done for her son; as my mom listened intently she looked from the woman to the little boy and finally to me. My mom was a pediatric nurse at the time, so naturally after hearing all that had taken place she hugged the little boy and asked him if he was alright. He accepted all of the attention and I just stood there as proud as any peacock. When they left, my mom looked at me and asked, “Rhonda, what were you going to do?” I replied, “Fight.”

To this day, my mom will bring up that story and ask me that same question from time to time. And my answer is always the same, “Fight.”

The next day at school recess was better than ever. Some of the older kids told me that I was pretty tough to be so little and invited me to play with them. I happily accepted and on my way to the swings, I saw the little boy playing in the sandbox with some kids; there were no tears and there was no teasing. We caught a glimpse of one another and smiled. My memory stops at that point. What happened after that day is erased from my memory. But I often think of that little boy and I hope that wherever he is, he is still smiling.

It should be no surprise that I work with abused and neglected children, as well as their families by offering services that facilitate keeping children in their own homes or services that will encourage reunification of children with their parents/caretakers. Did you know that 3 million children are documented as abused every year? There are some parents that benefit from the services that my agency offers but there are many more who don’t understand that the agency’s primary mission is to first protect the child. Take for instance a parent who physically abused their ten-year old son so badly that his legs and back will be scarred permanently. As a caseworker, I have some tough decisions to make:

·        What is the permanent plan for the child?

·        Will the parent/caretaker actually benefit from the services that are being provided?

·        What’s in the best interest of the child?

·        Should I move forward in petitioning that the parents rights are terminated?

·        Can I really help this family?

But do you know what I’ve learned about people who abuse their children? They also were victims of abuse and/or neglect and have carried  pain in their hearts for years. Because change is sometimes the hardest thing to do, people continue “cycles of abuse” living in a manner void of joy and peace simply because they are unwilling or unable to make the necessary “life changes” for themselves and their children.

Casework can be such a dark place; there is little light, love or hope in the heart of a child who has suffered at the hand of a parent or loved one. But through combined efforts from agencies such as mine and the community, we can stop the abuse and neglect of children. Keep your eyes and ears open; bullying, physical, sexual, emotional and mental are just a few forms of abuse and/or neglect. Ask questions and use your intuition; the worst cases are those that are unreported.

Our lives should reflect beauty, love and peace. As a caseworker, I remember to keep close to my heart the experience with that little boy from so long ago. Even though it was not his parent that was abusing him, abuse is abuse. It doesn’t matter who commits it. By saying NO to violence, we fight for those who can’t fight for themselves!

Add a comment April 24, 2008

Diabetes: An Epidemic in the African-American Community (Final Revision)

Did you know that one in two African-Americans will develop diabetes at some point in their lives? In addition, diabetes is the third largest killer among African-Americans; heart disease and cancer are currently the leading causes of death. Below are the three different types of diabetes. Each type is similar to the other in that the pancreas’ ability to secrete insulin is compromised. It is still unknown why the pancreas stops or lessens the secretion of insulin though researchers are now attributing the “thrifty gene”, inherited by African-Americans from their ancestors, as a possible cause of diabetes. In past generations, this gene enabled Africans during feast and famine cycles to use food more efficiently when scarce. However with fewer feast and famine cycles, the thrifty gene may now make weight control more difficult. Presumably because of the western diet which is high in fat and sodium as well as the environment, obesity and diabetes began to “alter” the body’s “natural” state. This “genetic predisposition” along with Impaired Glucose Iolerance(IGT) often occurs together with the genetic tendency toward high blood pressure. People with IGT normally have higher blood sugar levels but not enough to call the condition diabetes. 

It should be made clear that you can’t “catch” diabetes as you can a cold or a Sexually Transmitted Disease (STD). Juvenile Diabetes, also known as Type 1 diabetes, is an autoimmune disease that is solely identified by the inability of the pancreas to secrete insulin. Insulin is a hormone that converts sugar and starches into energy. People with Type 1 diabetes take insulin by injections or through insulin-pumps in order to maintain “normal” blood sugar levels as there is no cure for the disease. If insulin is not taken in the appropriate manner, conditions that include blindness, kidney failure and nerve damage can occur; death can also occur in more severe cases. Symptoms of diabetes include but are not limited to extreme thirst and hunger, fatigue, frequent urination, unusual weight loss, irritability and blurred vision.

Type 2 diabetes can usually be controlled through diet and exercise. People who do not follow through with these regimens usually develop Type 1 diabetes. According to the National Diabetes Information Clearinghouse(NDIC), over 2.2 million African-Americans have Type 2 diabetes, and as many as 700,000 African-Americans are living with Type 2 diabetes and don’t know it. Type 2 diabetes is often attributed to obesity, however it is also frequently found in the elderly and people who have a family history of diabetes including gestational diabetes. 

Gestational diabetes affects about 5% of all pregnant women generally in their second trimester. Studies have indicated that the rate of gestational diabetes in African-American women is higher than in any other ethnic group. As with Type 1 and 2 diabetes, diet and exercise are tantamount in maintaining good health especially for the baby. Babies who are born to diabetics that did not have their blood sugar under control usually weigh more than the average baby born to someone without the disease.

In addition, birth defects and even death has occurred. It should be noted that babies born to diabetic mothers aren’t necessarily going to develop the disease though they are born with a genetic predisposition in becoming diabetic.The chances of a person who has gestational diabetes becoming a Type 1 or 2 diabetic is increased if they are unable to maintain a relatively strict regimen while pregnant.

African-Americans are now joining fitness clubs and challenge groups whose primary focus is to educate the community about choosing healthier lifestyles. Dr. Ian Smith started the 50 Million Pound Challenge designed to encourage African-Americans to lose excess weight and eat healthy. Dr. Smith is most known by his role as medical/diet expert on VH1’s Celebrity Fit Club. Since November of 2007 over 263,000 people have joined and over one million pounds have been lost. If you’re interested in joining the 50 Million Pound Challenge, please visit www.50millionpounds.com. Free challenge kits, along with a brochure, menu’s and weight trackers to record your progress are all available on the website.  

 Dr. James R. Gavin, president and professor of the Morehouse School of Medicine in Atlanta, states “that by eating well-balanced meals in the correct amounts, diabetics can keep their blood sugar levels as close to normal as possible.”  Exercising for at least 30 minutes a day and frequent blood sugar testing testing can greatly decrease health problems usually resulting from poor control of blood sugar.

Below I have listed two diabetic recipes that that whole family can enjoy:

Chicken and Dumplings (Diabetic)

 

1 1/2 pound chicken pieces, skin removed

1 1/2 cups water

1/3 cup chopped celery

1/4 cup chopped onion

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon vegetable shortening

1/2 cup skim milk

  1. Place prepared chicken pieces in large saucepan. Add water, celery, onion and salt; simmer, covered, 1 hour or until meat is tender.
  2. Meanwhile, prepare dumplings. Combine flour, baking powder, and salt. Cut in shortening until texture of split peas. Add milk to make a stiff dough. Roll
    dough out on a lightly floured surface to about 1/8-inch thickness. Cut into 1-inch strips, squares or diamonds.
  3. Remove chicken from bone; return chicken to chicken stock. Bring chicken and stock to a boil; add rolled dumplings. Cover and boil gently 8 to 10 minutes.

Makes 6 servings.

Food Exchange: Per 3/4 cup serving, may be exchanged for 2 Medium Fat Meat, 1 Starch.

Lemon Velvet Cake

Cake:

2 1/2 cups sifted cake flour
1 cup SPLENDA® Sugar Blend for Baking
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup butter, softened
3 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 cup milk
1/4 teaspoon lemon extract
1 teaspoon lemon rind

 

Lemon Filling:
2/3 cup SPLENDA® Sugar Blend for Baking
2 1/2 tablespoons cornstarch
1 cup water
2 egg yolks, lightly beaten
2 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons lemon rind
1/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice

 

Whipped Cream Frosting (optional):
1 1/4 cups whipping cream
2 tablespoons SPLENDA® Sugar Blend for Baking
1 teaspoon lemon rind
1/4 teaspoon lemon extract

1.      Cake Layer Directions: Preheat oven to 350°F (175°C). Grease and flour 2 (8-inch) round cake pans.

2.      Combine flour, SPLENDA® Sugar Blend for Baking, baking powder, and salt in a large mixing bowl. Cut butter into flour mixture with a fork or a pastry blender until crumbly. (This procedure may be done with a mixer at the lowest speed).

3.      Stir together eggs, milk, lemon extract, and lemon rind in a small mixing bowl; add 1/3 of the egg mixture to flour mixture. Beat at low speed of an electric mixer until blended. Beat at medium speed for 30 seconds or until batter is smooth, stopping to scrape down sides of the bowl. Repeat procedure 2 times. Spoon batter into prepared pans.

4.      Bake for 25 to 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool in pans on a wire rack 10 minutes; remove layers from pans and cool on a wire rack.

5.      Lemon Filling Directions: combine SPLENDA® Sugar Blend for Baking, cornstarch, and water. Cook over medium heat, whisking constantly, in a non reactive saucepan until mixture thickens. Gradually add about one-fourth of hot custard mixture into yolks, whisking until blended; return to remaining hot mixture, whisking constantly. Cook, whisking constantly, until mixture comes to a boil; boil 1 minute, whisking constantly. Remove from heat and stir in butter, lemon rind and lemon juice. Place plastic wrap on the surface. Set aside to cool.

6.      Whipped Cream Frosting Directions: beat whipping cream until foamy; gradually add SPLENDA® Sugar Blend for Baking, lemon rind, and lemon extract, beating until soft peaks form.

7.      To Assemble Cake: spread Lemon Filling between cake layers. Spread Whipped Cream Frosting on top and sides of cake.

Makes 16 servings.

Nutritional Facts Per Serving: Calories: 350; Calories from Fat: 150; Total Fat: 16g; Saturated Fat: 9g; Cholesterol: 115mg; Sodium: 210mg; Total Carbs: 41g; Dietary Fiber: 0g; Sugars: 23g; Protein: 4g

Exchanges per Serving: 2 1/2 Starches, 3 Fats

Being diagnosed with diabetes can be a challenge but it doesn’t have to stop you from leading a full and active life. 

 

Add a comment April 24, 2008

Pages

Categories

Links

Meta

Calendar

April 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Posts by Month

Posts by Category