Archive for April 8th, 2008




Water: Clean & Abundant for Everyone? (Revision 4 of Audio Piece)

I arose from my sofa and headed toward the kitchen for a nice cool drink.  I decided water was what I wanted to quench my thirst. I took a glass out of the cabinet and filled it to the brim with ice. I turned on the faucet and watched as the water filled the glass and the pieces of ice shifted like the audience in a movie theater when someone arrives late. I lifted the glass to my lips and water flowed like a small river down my throat and into my stomach. I had no thoughts of the water’s cleanliness nor did I have any fear that should I turn on the faucet again water wouldn’t come forth. I was full and satisfied.
My program was not on yet but I saw a child no more than three-years old drinking from what can only be described as a mud hole. The water was dirty yet the child used his hands as a cup and lifted the water to his lips. I watched as he drank; a small river flowing down into his protruding stomach. He looked ahead as if nothing was wrong; as if drinking dirty water was okay. I was ashamed because I didn’t realize until that moment how much I took this incredible natural resource for granted. I wash my clothes with it. I shower and wash my hair with it. I water my lawn and wash my car with it, never considering that elsewhere in the world a child is drinking from the same water holes that animals drink from.
Did you know that 4,000 children die everyday as a result of dehydration caused by diarrhea? How can this be in the 21st Century? We spend billions of dollars to fight wars in the name of democracy while children perish daily. What can be done to prevent these deaths? The answer: awareness and action!
Global Water, a volunteer-based international organization, is dedicated to providing permanent solutions to ensure that children and their families have access to clean drinking water. By providing financial gifts to organizations like Global Water, we are supporting efforts in developing state-of-the-art equipment used to drill wells in rural communities that frequently experience drought; we are also assisting efforts in building new sanitation facilities that will provide clean and abundant water for everyone.   
 
Before seeing that child, I had no reason to be concerned about water. I used it at my discretion thinking little of the world around me. But when you know better, you do better and my action in supporting humanitarian efforts to ensure that all people have clean drinking water,  will speak louder than my words…. 

Add a comment April 8, 2008

Pages

Categories

Links

Meta

Calendar

April 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Posts by Month

Posts by Category