Anxiously Awaiting: 1st Debate Obama and McCain

September 26, 2008 Rhonda M. Cartwright, BA, M.L.S

I am so thrilled to hear that Senator John McCain will be present, as he should be, for tonight’s debate with/against Senator Barack Obama. I suppose my opinion is only relevant to me in some aspects, nonetheless I offer my two cents of what was about to be a huge mistake on the part of Senator McCain. As everyone is aware, our economy is teetering on the edge of collapse. There is simply no other way that you can describe the panic that has been ensuing these last two or so weeks. The mortgage crisis, the value of the dollar, gas prices and an outrageously expensive war has all led to our current state as a nation. In what I can only call a “convenient” situation, Senator McCain informed the world that he planned to suspend his campaign. I thought that was the nuttiest thing I had ever heard of in a long while, but then thought maybe not. According to recent polls, Senator Mccain slightly trails Senator Obama in the popular vote. it is my belief that Senator McCain and/or his camp perceived this particular moment as an opportunity to regroup and better prepare for the debates. But to no surprise, Senator Obama objected this tactic proclaiming that there is no better time than now to debate the objectives of each candidate as Americans (and the world) want answers as to their futures and the future of our nation. Right on Senator Obama!! What was John McCain thinking by initiating or agreeing to a suspension of his campaign? And what of Governor Palin? Isn’t she his running mate? Where does she stand in all of this? I’m being sarcastic here but the truth is the truth…she’s “locked” down because she doesn’t speak well, she doesn’t fully understand the dynamics of our current state as a nation and world power, and frankly she is unqualified to be Vice-President. I get irritated when some people push her position of governor, mother, hockey and PTA mom and woman as credentials to be a “world” leader. Yes she’s governor of Alaska…so what? How many people live there, how much diversity is there and what type of traumatic event has happened in Alaska during her tenure that would have me to believe that she would utilize best judgement in restoring her “community”, ie. Hurricane Katrina and all of the Gulf Coast, the terrorists attacks of September 11, 2001, or the floods that have plagued the midwest and other regions of our country.  As a mother she has five children…one is pregnant at 17and one has Down’s Syndrome. And she wants to be Vice-President? She can be good, but not that good. What does hockey or the PTA have to do with running a country?? And lastly, she’s a woman. So what? So am I. Does that qualify me to lead a nation? No. People really need to be critical thinkers before they offer input on what can only be described as strange. But then again, John McCain isn’t concerned about her credentials. He selected her because she is a woman and had some belief that after Hillary Clinton supporters saw that she would not be the running mate of Barack Obama, they would jump ship and come over to his side. But gosh, in my opinion McCain proved that he’s an opportunist more than anything. He can care less about women’s rights or advancements.

But I digress; I will be directly in front of my television this evening watching the debates. I believe that our nation will have to come to terms that Senator Obama is a viable candidate and that he is the best choice to lead our nation!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

September 2008
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts