10 More Essentials: Must See “Black” Films

November 2, 2008 Rhonda M. Cartwright, BA, M.L.S

Some time ago, I wrote a blog regarding my top ten novel and movie essentials. I wrote this blog because quite frequently,  I have noticed that people of color are absent from “popular” surveys/opinion polls that seemingly are dominated by a white audience. This is not a bad thing, however by surveying only a particular demographic, people [any person, any race] miss gems that can truly change one’s place of comfort or landscape of thought; as a result, I am adding a different segment of “essentials.”

This time my focus is on ten essentials in modern Black film (these may include made for television movies). Please note that when I say Black film, I mean to state films with a predominately Black cast.

I am certain there are dynamic films that I possibly know nothing about or because I have chosen to select “modern” films, I have missed altogether. So ahead of time I ask your forgiveness as my opinions are based on my exposure to said film(s) and the particular era of film that I have chosen. I do however invite anyone reading this blog to submit their opinions and thoughts on the films that I have listed, and in turn, create a list of your own.  

I do hope that you enjoy my picks and if you have not had the opportunity to view them…do so sometime soon. They all have something profound and exquisite to offer.

1. Boys In The Hood starring Cuba Gooding, Jr. and Ice T

2. School Daze starring Spike Lee and Laurence Fishborne

3. Lady Sings the Blues starring Diana Ross and Billy Dee Williams

4. Claudine starring Diahann Carroll and James Earl Jones

5. Jungle Fever starring Wesley Snipes, Ruby Dee and Ossie Davis

6.  The Great Debaters starring Denzel Washington and Jurnee Smollett

7. Glory starring Denzal Washington and Morgan Freeman

8. Miss Ever’s Boys starring Alfre Woodard and Laurence Fishborne

9. Juice starring Tupac Shakur and Omar Epps

10. A Raisin in the Sun starring Sidney Poitier and Ruby Dee

I am so proud of my culture and the lessons of my ancestors. It’s true, we have such a long way to go before we truly understand that freedom is not only “being free.” It is also casting down the shackles that bind our minds, hearts and spirits.  

Yes, we have a long way to go…but we have crossed many miles and looked upon many moons.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Theresa Whelan  |  November 26, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    Hi, just thought I would get online and check out your Blog, I know you are happy with the results of the election. I am so glad everyone made the right choice, I don’t think I could have stood another 4-8 years with the same administration at the helm. Also wanted to know how you are doing. Hope everything is working out great in your new home. I’m sorry we never got to do lunch before you left but you know how it is, we get so busy sometimes we forget to do the fun stuff.

    • 2. rmcartwright  |  December 13, 2008 at 1:01 am

      Hi Theresa, it’s so good to hear from you! Yes, I am very excited that Barack Obama won the election. I pray that he will be as humble as President as he was during his campaign. I so admire his character and style. He insisted on maintaining the high road even when darts were being thrown at him from every direction. But now he has the opportunity to prove who he is and that his desire for change is honest and shared by a majority of all people, not only Americans but worldwide. I’m so sorry we were unabale to meet. I seemed to have no free time to meet with my friends before I left and now I’m off again. Joel and I have moved to Texas. The economy hear was just too bad and businesses are folding for better conditions. I pray for everyone! How have you been doing and what’s been going on in South Bend, Indiana? ;0)


Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

November 2008
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Most Recent Posts