College Reunion 2008

April 16, 2008 Rhonda M. Cartwright, BA, M.L.S

 

                                                                      colleges_wilberforce.jpg

A couple of weekends ago, I visited my Alma mater (Wilberforce University in Wilberforce, Ohio) to participate in our yearly college reunion called Dawn Dance. Dawn Dance is a weekend of special events and celebration; all of which honors our beloved W.U., it’s rich history and dedication to the advancement of  African-Americans through education.  

Wilberforce is the first HBCU(Historically Black College and Universities) owned and operated by African-Americans. The school was founded in 1856 by Daniel Payne (an African-American and Bishop with the African Methodist Episcopal Church) and  was named after the 18th century abolitionist William Wilberforce. The school even played a significant role in assisting escaped slaves as the Underground Railroad made a “stop” at W.U. 

Since it’s inception, many notable African-Americans have graduated from the university which only adds to the pride that I have as a former student: William Grant Still, the first African-American to conduct a major symphony orchestra, Floyd Flake, former US Congressman and current President of Wilberforce University and Regina M. Anderson, playwright in the Harlem Renaissance are just a fragment of Wilberforce’s history. 

I had not participated in Dawn Dance since 1999, so I was excited to see old classsmates and professors. It was also wonderful to see that the campus has expanded since my time as a student; more dorms and administrative buildings have been erected to meet the needs of a growing campus.  

I had so many wonderful experiences at Wilberforce; I became a member of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. while a student there…I also gave my life to the Lord, met my husband and forged friendships that I know will last forever.

I didn’t start out at W.U. though; I transferred from another university because I was failing in school, failing in relationships and failing in spirit until one day I became sick and tired of being sick and tired. I wanted more for my life, so I asked God to show me the way. As I sat in my window and thumbed through pages of potential campuses that I could begin anew, a strong wind came out of nowhere and when I looked down the pages of my book had stopped on a campus I had never heard of…Wilberforce University. It was a weird sensation that swept through me. All I can tell you is that I knew that this is where God wanted me to go, so I laid on my bedroom floor and wrote the most sincere letter of my life at that time. I explained to whomever might read my letter all of my shortcomings, but I knew if I would be given the opportunity to prove myself I would excel not only as a student, but as a human being.

Not even two weeks later, I received a response welcoming me to begin again at W.U., praising all that I was and all that I was yet to become. When I went to the campus for the first time, I can only say that God moved through me and I knew I was home. My parents were a bit perturbed at first because they had already paid toward my tuition at my previous university, but when they saw how I excelled and how my life changed, any doubts or concerns were forgotten.

I will always be grateful that I am a member of the Wilberforce family. As you can see, I hold my Alma mater in high esteem.  

 

                                                                    panel7b-med.jpg

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lolita Echols-Smith  |  April 6, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    Great Blog, Keep me posted. It touched and warmed me…..

  • 2. Ngozi "Go-Go"  |  April 7, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    Hi Soror! I was at DD 08 as well. I know the feeling. I am a Zeta Soror also from spring 02. I found your blog online and enjoyed the readings.


Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

April 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts